Our investigations focus on the preparation and modification of thin oxide films on metal supports and metal nanoparticles on oxides and on the structural, electronic and chemical properties of these systems for thermal catalysis.

The experiments are performed with the high resolution spectro-microscope SMART (Spectro-Microscope with Aberration Correction for many relevant Techniques) operating at the BESSY II electron storage ring. This aberration corrected and energy filtered Low Energy Electron Microscope (LEEM) / Photo-Emission Electron Microscope (PEEM) combines microscopy, spectroscopy and diffraction of photo-emitted and reflected electrons. It allows for real-time observations of surface processes like oxidation, structure formation or chemical reactions.

Group Members

Dr. Mauricio Prieto

Lucas de Souza Caldas

Dr. Liviu Tănase

Stephan Pohl

Dr. Aarti Tiwari

Marcel Springer

Spectro-Microscopy Research Group

Recent Publications

Sebastian Kunze, Liviu Cristian Tanase, Mauricio Prieto, Philipp Grosse, Fabian Scholten, Lucas de Souza Caldas, D. van Vörden, Thomas Schmidt, and Beatriz Roldan Cuenya, "Plasma-assisted Oxidation of Cu(100) and Cu(111)," Chemical Science (2021).
Håkon I. Røst, Benjamen P. Reed, Frode S. Strand, Joseph A. Durk, Andrew Evans, Antonija Grubišić-Čabo, Gary Wan, Mattia Cattelan, Mauricio Prieto, Daniel M. Gottlob, Liviu Cristian Tanase, Lucas de Souza Caldas, Thomas Schmidt, Anton Tadich, Bruce C. C. Cowie, Rajesh Kumar Chellappan, Justin W. Wells, and Simon P. Cooil, "A Simplified Method for Patterning Graphene on Dielectric Layers," ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces 13 (31), 37510-37516 (2021).
Mathias Homann, Bernhard von Boehn, Mauricio Prieto, Daniel M. Gottlob, Liviu Cristian Tanase, Thomas Schmidt, Francesca Genuzio, Tevfik O. Menteş, Andrea Locatelli, and Ronald Imbihl, "Coupling of morphological instability and kinetic instability: Chemical waves in hydrogen oxidation on a bimetallic Ni/Rh(111) surface," Physical Review Materials 5 (4), 045002 (2021).
Håkon I. Røst, Rajesh Kumar Chellappan, Frode S. Strand, Antonija Grubišić-Čabo, Benjamin P. Reed, Mauricio Prieto, Liviu Cristian Tanase, Lucas de Souza Caldas, Thipusa Wongpinij, Chanan Euaruksakul, Thomas Schmidt, Anton Tadich, Bruce C. C. Cowie, Zheshen Li, Simon P. Cooil, and Justin W. Wells, "Low-Temperature Growth of Graphene on a Semiconductor," The Journal of Physical Chemistry C 125 (7), 4243-4252 (2021).
Adrian Lewandowski, Sergio Tosoni, Leonard Gura, Zechao Yang, Alexander Fuhrich, Mauricio Prieto, Thomas Schmidt, Denis Usvyat, Wolf-Dieter Schneider, Markus Heyde, Gianfranco Pacchioni, and Hans-Joachim Freund, "Growth and Atomic‐Scale Characterization of Ultrathin Silica and Germania Films: The Crucial Role of the Metal Support," Chemistry – A European Journal 27 (6), 1870-1885 (2021).

Go to Editor View