Scanning Probe Microscopy

Scanning Probe Microscopy

The research group scanning probe microscopy (SPM) has been established with a focus on high-resolution local structure measurements on model systems for heterogeneous catalysis. Well defined crystalline and amorphous thin oxide film systems have been developed and characterized by atomic resolution scanning probe microscopy and spectroscopy to gain insight into local structural environments for chemical reactions taking place at these surfaces.

Electrocatalytic reactions, such as water oxidation and carbon dioxide reduction, that are being pursued by the Department of Interface Science could be significantly affected by the use of these films on the surface of the catalyst. Stabilization of the catalyst from degradation and erosion is an ongoing area of interest. Furthermore, modification of metal single crystal electrodes with a two-dimensional barrier layer is proposed as a model system to address structural and chemical alterations that could occur during electrochemical reactions that might lead to changes in their activity and selectivity. Chemical and structural effects created by two-dimensional overlayers is a hot topics in this research direction.

Group Members

Dr. Jared P. Bruce

Felix Landwehr

Dr. Juan Jesus Navarro

Khanh-Ly Nguyen

Jens Hartmann

Gero Thielsch

Recent Publications

Juan Jesus Navarro, Mowpriya Das, Sergio Tosoni, Felix Landwehr, Jared P. Bruce, Markus Heyde, Gianfranco Pacchioni, Frank Glorius, and Beatriz Roldan Cuenya, "Covalent Adsorption of N-Heterocyclic Carbenes on a Copper Oxide Surface," Journal of the American Chemical Society 144 (36), 16267-16271 (2022).
Martin Tømterud, Sabrina D. Eder, Christin Büchner, Markus Heyde, Hans-Joachim Freund, Joseph R. Manson, and Bodil Holst, "Variation of bending rigidity with material density: bilayer silica with nanoscale holes," Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics 24 (30), 17941-17945 (2022).
Juan Jesus Navarro, Mowpriya Das , Sergio Tosoni, Felix Landwehr, Maximilian Koy, Markus Heyde, Gianfranco Pacchioni, Frank Glorius, and Beatriz Roldan Cuenya, "Growth of N-Heterocyclic Carbene Assemblies on Cu(100) and Cu(111): from Single Molecules to Magic-Number Islands," Angewandte Chemie International Edition 61 (30), e202202127 (2022).
Leonard Gura, Zechao Yang, Joachim Paier, Florian Kalass, Matthias Brinker, Heinz Junkes, Markus Heyde, and Hans-Joachim Freund, "Dynamics in the O(2 × 1) adlayer on Ru(0001): bridging timescales from milliseconds to minutes by scanning tunneling microscopy," Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics 24 (25), 15265-15270 (2022).
Zechao Yang, Leonard Gura, Florian Kalass, Patrik Marschalik, Matthias Brinker, William Kirstädter, Jens Hartmann, Gero Thielsch, Heinz Junkes, Markus Heyde, and Hans-Joachim Freund, "A high-speed variable-temperature ultrahigh vacuum scanning tunneling microscope with spiral scan capabilities," Review of Scientific Instruments 93 (5), 053704 (2022).
Go to Editor View