Gerhard Ertl Lecture & Award

The Ertl Lecture Award was established in 2008 by the three Berlin universities (Humboldt University, Technical University and Free University) and the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society and is awarded once a year. It commemorates former FHI Director Gerhard Ertl's Nobel Prize in Chemistry, which he received in 2007. The prize honours outstanding personalities and researchers in the field of catalysis where Ertl carried out exceptional research for many decades. The prize, sponsored by BASF, includes a one-week research stay at the participating Berlin institutions and a keynote lecture. The winner is typically announced in Spring, the lecture takes place on December 10th, the anniversary of Ertl's Nobel Prize reception.

10th of December 2020, 4pm. Gerhard Ertl Lecture Award winner Prof. Ulrike Diebold will give her award lecture. No registration required. This link will direct you to Youtube, where you can watch the livestream of the lecture. There will be a Q&A session after the talk. Questions may be posted in the Youtube Livechat. more

Want to ask a question in the live Q&A session after the talk? Go to the Youtube Livechat or send an email to

Previous Gerhard Ertl Lecture Award Winners

Frances M. Ross
Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, USA

Michele Parrinello
Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Ben L. Feringa
Stratingh Institute for Chemistry, Center for Systems Chemistry & Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, University of Groningen, Netherlands

J. Peter Toennies
Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organisation, Göttingen, Germany

Maki Kawai
Department of Advanced Materials Science, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Richard Catlow
Department of Chemistry University College London, UK

John T. Yates, Jr.
Department of Chemistry, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, USA

Charles T. Campbell
Chemistry Department, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA

Roald Hoffmann
Baker Laboratory, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA

Sir John Meurig Thomas
University of Cambridge, UK

Jens Nørskov
Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark

Gabor Somorjai
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA

Go to Editor View