Beatriz Roldán Cuenya elected to the Academia Europaea

August 31, 2020
For her contributions and dedication to the advancement of scientific research in Europe the Director of the Department of Interface Science was awarded with a membership to the Academy.

At the beginning of August, Professor Beatriz Roldán Cuenya has been officially elected as a member of the Academia Europaea, a pan-European society dedicated to advancing scholarship in the Humanities, Letters, Law, and Sciences. Prof. Roldán Cuenya, a physicist by training, has undertaken interdisciplinary research in the fields of surface science, thermal catalysis and electrochemistry for almost 20 years. She has thus joined the Chemical Sciences Section of the Academy.

Prof. Roldán Cuenya has been selected for membership due to her seminal contributions to the fundamental understanding of heterogeneous catalysis by nanoparticles and nanostructured surfaces. Her results serve to help guide the rational design of more efficient catalysts with a longer lifetime. She has also greatly advanced current knowledge of the dynamic nature of nanocatalysts and their working mechanisms for important chemical processes such as the thermal and electrochemical conversion of CO2 to higher value chemicals and fuels.

“I’m extremely honoured to have been elected. The Academia Europaea is a unique organization that brings together scientists from all over Europe and the world in order to promote excellence in scientific research and stimulate collaborations. I am delighted to have become one of them,” Prof. Roldán Cuenya says. She is especially looking forward to promote research and science on an European level. Being a member of German, Dutch, Spanish and US-American scientific advisory boards, she is already an expert in contributing her expertise to an international scientific and political audience.

The Academia Europaea was founded in 1988. The society supports scholarship, promotes scientific excellence and creates Europe-wide partnerships. New members are elected annually. Potential candidates have to be nominated by existing members and undergo a rigorous peer review process before being elected. Among its ca. 4000 members are 74 Nobel Laureates.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View