Beatriz Roldán Cuenya receives ISE-Elsevier Prize 

July 13, 2021

The Director of the Interface Science Department of the Fritz Haber Institute, Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya, has been elected as the 2021 winner of the ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry.

The ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry is awarded to Beatriz Roldán because of her seminal contributions to the fundamental understanding of electrocatalysis by nanostructured materials. Beatriz Roldán’s research program bridges the fields of heterogeneous thermal catalysis and electrocatalysis using a surface science approach, augmented by advanced in situ and operando microscopy, spectroscopy and diffraction methods.

The International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) honors each year a person who has made an important contribution to experimental electrochemistry. The award is supported by the scientific publishing company Elsevier.

The nominations submitted to the ISE were evaluated by the Award Selection Committee chaired by Prof. Richard Nichols from the University of Liverpool, UK. The president of the ISE, Prof. Marc Koper from Leiden University, The Netherlands, congratulated Prof. Roldán on this achievement, which reflects her notable contributions to the development of the field of experimental electrochemistry. 

The ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry consists of a certificate, a sum of 2,000 Euro and an Award lecture on the ISE Annual Meeting.

The International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) was founded in 1949 by leading European and American Electrochemists to serve the growing needs of electrochemistry in becoming a modern scientific discipline. Since then, the association has evolved and now comprises about 3,000 individual and more than 20 corporate members. The ISE is a non-profit organization with its headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland, and an Associated Organization of the IUPAC.

Prof. Roldán Cuenya has been the Director of the Interface Science Department of the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin (Germany) since 2017. Her research program explores physical and chemical properties of nanostructures and thin films, with emphasis on advancements in nanocatalysis based on operando microscopic and spectroscopic characterization with a focus on synchrotron-based X-ray spectroscopy. 


    Other Interesting Articles

    Go to Editor View