Beatriz Roldán Cuenya - juror at the Eduard Rhein Prize ceremony

Recognition of outstanding achievements in the fields of technology and culture

June 23, 2023

In June, the prestigious Eduard Rhein Prize ceremony took place in Munich. Among the jury members was Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya, Director of the Interface Science Department at the Fritz Haber Institute. The Eduard Rhein Prize is awarded to outstanding individuals in the fields of technology and culture, as well as a youth prize. For the years 2020 and 2022, the Technology Prize was awarded to Prof. Koblitz, Ph.D., Victor S. Miller, Ph.D., and Prof. Hideo Hosono, while the Culture Prize went to Prof. Dr. Lesch.

Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya had the honorable task of serving as a juror for the Culture Prize. The Culture Prize carries a value of 10,000 euros. The selection of the prize winners was based on unanimous recommendations from the board of trustees and the jury, which were followed by the board.

The Technology Prize, endowed with 40,000 euros, was awarded in 2020 to Prof. Koblitz, Ph.D., and Victor S. Miller, Ph.D., for their groundbreaking contributions to technology. In 2022, Prof. Hideo Hosono was honored with the Technology Prize for his invention of metal oxide thin-film transistors for display applications.

The Culture Prize in 2022 was awarded to Prof. Dr. Harald Lesch. Prof. Lesch received this accolade for his excellent achievements in combining scientific research, popularization of science, and societal engagement. His contribution to communicating complex scientific topics to the public is highly appreciated.

In addition, youth prizes were also awarded. Elian Terelle received the Eduard Rhein Youth Prize 2022 for broadcasting, television, and information technology for his low-cost instant replay system for professional use. Noel Friedrich was awarded the Konrad Zuse Youth Prize 2022 for computer science, as he successfully created a computer simulation of a pandemic.

As part of the ceremony, Prof. Dr. Harald Lesch delivered a keynote speech on the topic "Society and Science - The History of a Misunderstanding." The laudation for Prof. Lesch was given by Dr. habil. Ulrich Bleyer, former director of Urania Berlin e. V.

The award ceremony was accompanied by a musical performance by the Academy of the Symphony Orchestra of the Bavarian Broadcasting Corporation, conducted by Luisa Sophie Fischer and Bettina Binder.

The Eduard Rhein Prize recognizes outstanding achievements in the fields of technology, culture, and youth and thus acknowledges the contribution of the laureates to the development and enrichment of society. Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya had the honor of participating as a juror in this significant event and contributing to the decision regarding the Culture Prize.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View