The FEL Team


  • Dr. Wieland Schöllkopf (head of the FHI FEL Facility)
  • Sandy Gewinner
  • Marco De Pas
  • Prof. Dr. Gert von Helden
  • Prof. Dr. Gerard Meijer

     Technical support:

  • Karin Grassow
  • Heinz Junkes
  • Florian Kalaß
  • William Kirstaedter
  • Sebastian Kray
  • Andreas Liedke
  • Klaus-Peter Vogelgesang

     Former group members:

  • Wolfgang Erlebach
  • Dr. Yuanfang Xu (now at USTC, Hefei, China)
  • Prof. Weiqing Zhang (now at Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Dalian, China)

Consultants to the FHI FEL Project:

  • Distinguished Professor (Emeritus) Bill Colson, WBC Physics
  • David Dowell, Dowell Consulting
  • Steve Gottschalk, STI Magnetics (with Terence DeHart & Art Valla)
  • John Rathke, JW Rathke Engineering Services
  • Tom Schultheiss, TJS Technologies
  • Alan Todd, AMMTodd Consulting
  • Lloyd Young, LMY Technology

Advanced Energy Systems, Inc. (until 2014):

  • Hans Bluem
  • Kevin Jordan (external consultant)
  • Ralph Lange (external consultant)

Bestec GmbH:

  • Dr. Tanja Giessel
  • Dr. Mario Borgwardt

Forschungszentrum Rossendorf:

  • Dr. Peter Michel
  • Dr. Wolfgang Seidel
  • Dr. Rudi Wünsch
  • Dr. Ulf Lehnert


We would also like to thank the following people for advice and discussions:

  • Dr. Ernst Weihreter (BESSY)
  • Dr. Johannes Bahrdt (BESSY)
  • Dr. Andreas Gaupp (BESSY)
  • Dr. Klaus Ott (BESSY)
  • Dr. Ralph Lange (BESSY)
  • Dr. Lex van der Meer (Radboud University Nijmegen, NL)
  • Arjan van Vliet (Radboud University Nijmegen, NL)
  • Dr. Britta Redlich (Radboud University Nijmegen, NL)
Go to Editor View