Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya - Curriculum Vitae

Researcher ID: <u>L-1874-2016</u>
ORCID: <u>0000-0002-8025-307X</u>
Scopus Author ID: <u>55666402900</u>

Education

M.S. June 1998 University of Oviedo, Spain, Physics -

Material Sciences.

Ph.D. (summa cum laude) September 2001 University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany,

Advisor: Prof. Werner Keune Solid State Physics.

Post-Doctoral Fellow (2001-2003) University of California at Santa Barbara,

Advisor: Prof. Eric McFarland USA, Chemical Engineering.

Major Positions

2017- present	Director of the Interface Science Department at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin, Germany. Honorary Professor at the Technische Universität Berlin, Freie Universität Berlin, and Ruhr-University Bochum (Germany). Distinguished Research Professor at the University of Central Florida (USA).
2013-2017	Professor (W3), Chair of the Solid State Physics/Surface Physics group at the Institute of Experimental Physics IV, Department of Physics, Ruhr University Bochum (RUB), Bochum (Germany). Joint appointment with the Department of Chemistry at RUB, Bochum (Germany). Distinguished Research Professor in the Physics Department at the University of Central Florida, Orlando (USA).
2012-2013	Professor, University of Central Florida (UCF), Physics Department, Orlando, Florida (USA).
2010-2011	Sabbatical leave (9 months) at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Chemical Physics Department, Berlin (Germany).
2008-2012	Associate Professor (tenured), University of Central Florida (UCF), Physics Department, Orlando, Florida. Secondary joint faculty appointments at UCF's Nanoscience and Technology Center and at the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering.
2004-2008	Assistant Professor, University of Central Florida, Physics Department, Orlando, Florida (USA).
2001-2003	Post-Graduate Scholar, University of California Santa Barbara, Chemical Engineering Department, Santa Barbara, California (USA).
1998-2001	PhD student, Fellowship of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Graduate school, Department of Physics, University of Duisburg-Essen, Essen (Germany).

11/2024

Awards and Honors

- ACES Margarita Salas Award of the Association of Spanish Researchers in Sweden and the Margarita Salas Foundation (2024).
- Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2024).
- Manchot Research Professorship, TU Munich (2023).
- BASF Physical Chemistry Lectureship at the University California, Berkeley (2023).
- Award from the Spanish Newspaper "La Nueva España": Asturian person of the month (2023).
- Faraday Medal from The Electrochemistry Division of the UK Royal Society of Chemistry (2022).
- Paul H. Emmett Award from the North American Catalysis Society for Fundamental Catalysis (2022).
- Röntgen Medal of the City of Remscheid (2022).
- International Society of Electrochemistry, ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry (2021).
- Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, AVS (2021).
- Member of the Academia Europaea, the Academy of Europe (2020 present).
- Zhang Dayu Lectureship Award of Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics (DICP), Dalian, China, 2020.
- Lectureship Award of Netherlands Center for Multiscale Catalytic Energy Conversion (MCEC), Utrecht, The Netherlands, 2020.
- Distinguished Speaker Award in the Highlight Seminar Series of the Institute for Molecular Science and Engineering (IMSE), Imperial College London, UK, 2020.
- European Research Council Consolidator Award, 2016.
- Fellow of the Max Planck Society, 2016.
- Peter Mark Memorial Award, American Vacuum Society, 2009.
- NSF-CAREER Award, 2005.

Scientific output

h-index = 85; 30,000 citations (Google Scholar), 245 peer-reviewed publications, 6 book chapters, 6 patents.

289 invited oral presentations, with 16 plenary talks and 39 keynote lectures since 2017.

Editorial Services

- Member of the editorial advisory board of Chemical Reviews journal (2019-present).
- Member of the advisory editorial board of the Journal of Catalysis (2018-present).
- Associate editor of ACS Catalysis (2018-2022).
- Member of the advisory editorial board of the Surface Science journal (2010-2018).
- Associate editor of the J. American Vacuum Science and Technology B (2005-2010).

Academic Services

- Member of the Advisory Committee of the Institute of Carbon Science and Technology (INCAR) from the CSIC, Oviedo, Spain (2024-present).

- Member of the Advisory Committee of the IMDEA-Nanoscience Institute from the CSIC, Madrid, Spain (2023-present).
- Member of the Advisory Committee of CANSTOREnergy, Toronto, Canada (2024 present).
- Member of the Prisma Forum, an Advisory Committee of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Germany (2023 present).
- Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Spanish industry *Química del Nalón* (2023 present)
- Member of the Board of the Priority Programme SPP 2080, DynaCat, from the German Science Foundation (DFG), Karlsruhe (2022 present).
- Member of the external advisory board of the UK Catalysis Hub (2021 present).
- Member of the Research@BESSY Board of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin for the strategic development of BESSY II and BESSY III planning (2021 present).
- Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2), Barcelona, Spain (2021 2024)
- Member of the Elisabeth Schiemann Kolleg for mentoring women in the natural sciences (2021 2024).
- Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), Tarragona, Spain (2020 present).
- Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Liquid Sunlight Alliance (LISA) Hub, USA (2020 present).
- Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Advanced Research Center Chemical Building Blocks Consortium (ARC CBBC), Utrecht, The Netherlands (2019 - present).
- Member of the Board of the Cluster of Excellence UniSysCat from the German Science Foundation (DFG), Berlin (2019 present).
- Chair of the Advisory Committee to the Synchrotron Facility ALBA, Spain (2019 present).
- Member of the Ertl Center for Electrochemistry & Catalysis, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea (2019 2029).
- Member of the Scientific Council of DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Hamburg, Germany (2019 2023).
- Member of the Advisory Committee of the Office of Basic Energy Sciences of the US Department of Energy (2011 2021).
- Elected member of the executive committee of the Surface Science Division of the American Vacuum Society (2009 2012).

Services to Academic Award Committees

- Member of the selection committee of The Talent Program in Catalysis and Sustainable Chemistry of ETH Zürich (2022 present).
- Member of the jury of the Eduard-Rhein-Stiftung (2022 present).
- Member of nomination committee for the Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award (2020 present).
- Member of the selection committee of the Clara Immerwahr Award of the Berlin Cluster of Excellence UniSysCat (2019 present).

11/2024 3

Conference Organizations

- Challenges on Renewable Energy Storage conference, co-organized with the J. Heyrovský Institute for Physical Chemistry (Prague), 09/01-04/2024, Liblice Castle, Czech Republic, co-Chair.
- Gordon Research Conference on Clusters and Nanostructures, 06/16-21/2019; Les Diablerets, Switzerland, Vice Chair.
- Electrochemistry 2022, Berlin, 09/25-30/2022, Berlin, Germany, Co-Chair.

11/2024 4