Curriculum Vitae



Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Robert Schlögl

Name: Robert Schlögl

Born: 23 February 1954

Affiliation: Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, President

Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Dept. ISC

Research interests: heterogeneous catalysis, nanochemically optimised materials for energy storage concepts, chemical energy conversion, nature's energy conversion processes

Robert Schlögl is a chemist and catalysis researcher. His research focuses on heterogeneous catalysis and materials for energy storage concepts. His work has contributed to a new understanding of catalytically active materials. Recently, he has been working on energy systems of the future and the complex challenges of the energy transition.

Academic and professional career

since 2015	Honorary professor at the Ruhr University Bochum
since 2013	Honorary Professor at the University of Duisburg-Essen
2011 -2022	Founding Director and Managing Director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI CEC), Mülheim an der Ruhr
2005	Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Cambridge, UK
2004	Tetelman Fellow, Yale University, USA
2001	Visiting Professor at the Laboratoire des Matériaux, Surfaces et Procédés pour la Catalyse (L.M.S.P.C.), Université Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France
since 1998	Honorary Professor at the Humboldt University of Berlin, Department of Chemistry
since 1994	Honorary Professor at the Technical University of Berlin, Department of Chemistry
1994 - 2023	Director at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin
1989 - 1994	C4 Professorship for Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Frankfurt/Main

1/3 11/2024

1989	Habilitation at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin
1984 - 1985	Postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Physics, Basel, Switzerland
1982 - 1983	Postdoc at the Institute of Physical Chemistry, Cambridge University, UK
1982	Doctorate at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich
1979	Diploma in Chemistry
1973 - 1978	Studies of Chemistry at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

Functions in scientific societies and committees

Since 2023	President Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Since 2022	Member of the Advisory Board of Center for Nanointegration (CENIDE)
2022	Honorary Fellow Chinese Chemical Society
since 2020	Vice-President Leopoldina
2020/2021	Vice-Chairman of the National Hydrogen Council (NWR)
since 2018	Member of the Board of Trustees of the Academies' Project "Energy Systems of the Future" (ESYS), supported by acatech - German Academy of Science and Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities
2017/2018	Chair of the Carbon Capture and Usage (CCU) Working Group, Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA)
2017	Member of the Supervisory Board at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
since 2016	Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Copernicus Projects of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
2013 - 2017	Chairman of the steering committee of the academy project "Energy Systems of the Future" (ESYS)
2007- 2010	Chairman of the Panel Chemistry and Material Sciences of the European Research Council (ERC)
2004 - 2006	Chairman of the Chemical-Physical-Technical Section of the Scientific Council of the Max Planck Society
2003 - 2009	Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Catalysis
1999 - 2003	Member of the Editorial Board of Physical Chemistry - Chemical Physics (PCCP)
1998 - 2002	Member of the Editorial Board of Applied Catalysis A
1996 - 2003	President of the German Catalysis Society (GECATS)

2/3 11/2024

1996 - 2002 Head of the Catalysis Section of the Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (DECHEMA)

1995 - 2001 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Hahn Meitner Institute (HMI), Berlin

Member of the Advisory Board of the German Catalysis Society (GECATS)

Member of the Advisory Board of the European Federation of Catalysis Societies (EFCATS)

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Berlin Electron Storage Ring Society for Synchrotron Radiation m.b.H. (BESSY)

Member of the Advisory Board of the International Association of Catalysis Societies (IACS)

Awards and memberships conferred

2024	Diels Planck Medal
2023	Honorary Doctorate University of Messina
2021	Member Academia Europaea
2020	Honorary Doctorate from the University of Darmstadt, Germany
2019	Ipatieff Lecture of the Center for Catalysis and Surface Science (CCSS), USA
2019	Eduard Rhein Culture Prize
since 2018	Honorary Professor, Boreskov Institute of Catalysis, Russia
since 2017	Distinguished Affiliated Professor, Technical University of Munich (TUM)
2017	Ruhr Prize for Art and Science of the City of Mülheim a.d. Ruhr
2017	ENI Award Energy Transition
2016	Innovation Award of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia
2015	Alwin Mittasch Prize, Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (DECHEMA) and German Catalysis Society
2013	Max Planck Communitas Prize
since 2011	Member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
2010	DECHEMA Medal
since 2005	Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
since 1995	Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
1994	Otto Bayer Prize
1989	Schunck Award for Innovative Materials

Publications/Patents

1350 publications, Inventor in approx. 20 patent families

3/3 11/2024